User description

UEFA Cup appeared in 1971. Competitions became big interest of fans. In terms of significance specified tournament is inferior to the Champions League. But spectators there are many. Meetings champions constantly considered bookmakers. If so desired customers able to bet on matches of UEFA Cup with betting company.

Championship Emerges

In the middle of the last century created the Fairs Tournament. Games has been for 16 years. Thoughts about the championship attribute to three football functionaries:
• Stanley Rose;
• Ottorino Barrasi;
• Ernst Thommen.
Base consisted one rule. Participate in the tournament have the opportunity exclusively athletes from one club per city. Thus two teams from Berlin to fight for the title of the best could not.
First Tournament took place 3 years. Matches lasted during fairs. Leadership as a result won by the team of Barcelona.
Second tournament carried out according to a similar rule. Participate had the opportunity compositions from localities where there were fairs. However there were differences without differences. Organizers allowed compete professionals. Tournament started to be held annually. Increased number teams.
Championship reached high importance. As a result UEFA began to hold games under its own auspices.

At the start of the project

In 1971 the winner was the UK team. Championship changed name. Connections to fairs was no more. For the first time championship won by footballers from European north:
• Belgium;
• the Netherlands;
• Sweden;
• Germany;
• Great Britain.
Later cases changed. The UEFA Championship became a battlefield for players from southern Europe. Two years in a row win hold Real Madrid. Since the end of 1980s 8 times leadership went to Italians.

Main award

The main prize is the silver bowl. Weight of the trophy 15 kg. Made bowl in Spain. Designers didn't put handles. Such a decision improved the appearance of the trophy.
Award passes to the winner. In previous years trophy given to the team in perpetuity upon fulfillment of any of the requirements. Norms was 3:
1. Club won three times in a row.
2. Players won 5 wins within one cycle.
3. Each cycle begins from the moment of the last transfer of the trophy for perpetual storage.
Before the rule change theserequirements were to fulfill exclusively players of the Spanish club Sevilla.
At the beginning of the last decade, the organization requirements changed. After norms changed. Now champion takes replica of cup. Main trophy located by UEFA.

Conducting the tournament

Each European country have the right establish a certain number of clubs. According to accepted traditions for the UEFA Cup selected squads, won places after the Champions League qualification.